AREA NOTEBOOK: NCHSAA inducting Rothwell into Hall of Fame

AREA NOTEBOOK: NCHSAA inducting Rothwell into Hall of Fame

  • 0
Only $3 for 13 weeks

The N.C. High School Athletic Association announced Monday that Statesville’s David Rothwell will be among eight inductees for the 2020 NCHSAA Hall of Fame class.

An accomplished wrestling coach and respected athletic administrator, Rothwell served the NCHSAA and its student-athletes from 1972 until his retirement in 2012.

Rothwell’s career in education as a teacher and coach spanned 20 years, from 1972-1992, and included stints at three different NCHSAA schools.

He guided Statesville’s wrestling team to the 1992 3A state championship. He served at Albemarle, Asheboro and Statesville high schools before taking a position as Assistant Principal and Athletic Director at Statesville, a position he held from 1992-97. After a four-year stint as Principal at East Iredell Elementary School, he took a position as the Athletic Director for Iredell-Statesville Schools in 2001, remaining in that position until his retirement in 2012.

Rothwell has received many awards from various organizations. He was the Mat News 3A Coach of the Year in 1992. In 1994 and again in 2007 he received the Proclamation of Achievement Award from the NCHSAA.

The North Carolina Athletic Directors Association dubbed him the Region 7 Athletic Director of the Year in 2002 and selected him for induction in their Hall of Fame in 2014.

He garnered the State Award of Merit from the NIAAA in 2008. In 2010, Rothwell was named the Region 7 recipient of the Charlie Adams Distinguished Service Award, selected for the National Wrestling Hall of Fame, and inducted into the Iredell County Sports Hall of Fame in 2019.

This year’s NCHSAA induction class is the 34th to join the Hall of Fame which is dedicated to honoring those who “have done the most for high school athletics in North Carolina” throughout their careers.

Joining Rothwell are: Donald Clark from Snow Hill; Barbara Foxx from Sanford; Henry Jones from Cherryville; Norvell Lee from Goldsboro; Fred McDaniel from Wade; Ron Parson from Reidsville; and Milt Sherman from Greenville.

The class is being introduced Wednesday at an Introduction and Luncheon at the NCHSAA offices in Chapel Hill.

The formal induction ceremony and banquet for the class of 2020 will be held April 18, 2020, at the Embassy Suites in Cary. The banquet and ceremony is open to the public. Tickets to that event are $50 per person and will go on sale in the coming weeks.

Fox named scholar-athlete for 2018-19

Sixteen UNC Wilmington softball student-athletes have been recognized by the National Fastpitch Coaches Association (NFCA) as Easton/NFCA Division I Scholar-Athletes for the 2018-19 academic year.

Among them was 2019 UNCW graduate Lacey Fox, who starred on the North Iredell High School softball field before continuing her career with the Seahawks.

To qualify for the Easton/NFCA Scholar-Athlete Award, a student-athlete must achieve a minimum 3.5 grade point average on a 4.0 scale. In addition to the individual recognition, the Seahawks tied for 26th among Division I teams with a 3.540 team grade point average.

I-SS middle school volleyball semifinals set

The Iredell-Statesville Schools middle school volleyball tournament semifinals and final will be Thursday at East Iredell Middle School.

The first semifinal, scheduled to begin at 4:15 p.m., pits regular-season champion and top seed North Middle against No. 5 seed Brawley Middle, a winner over No. 4 seed East on Monday.

The second semifinal, which follows the first, features No. 2 seed West Middle and No. 3 Northview, which defeated No. 6 seed Mt. Mourne on Monday.

The tournament championship match will be held shortly after the second semifinal is completed.

Be the first to know

* I understand and agree that registration on or use of this site constitutes agreement to its user agreement and privacy policy.

Related to this story

Most Popular

Get up-to-the-minute news sent straight to your device.


Breaking News